Chanhee’s Math Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Symbolic Representation

Posted by chanheeh on November 23, 2008

You can translate the math problems into an algebraic equation. Translating words into symbols can be a very helpful problem solving skill the symbols stand for numbers that vary or remain constant.

Three friends went to the gym to work out. None of the friend would tell how much he or she could leg-press, but each hinted at their friends’ leg-press amount. Chen said that Juanita and Lou averaged 87 pounds. Juanita said that Chen leg-pressed 6 pounds more than Lou. Lou said that eight times Juanita’s amount equals seven times Chen’s amount. Find how much each friend could leg-press.

Let C, J and L represents Chen, Juanita, and Lou’s leg-press weight in lbs respectively.

We can express the problems as equations in terms of C, J and L.  

Can you do this?

2 Responses to “Symbolic Representation”

  1. Tatyana Malysh said

    I’ll, certanly, try!
    J for Juanita
    C for Chen
    L for Lou
    So, Juanita and Lou averaged 87 pounds is (J+L)/2=87
    Chen leg-pressed 6 pounds more than Lou is C=L+6
    eight times Juanita’s amount equals seven times Chen’s amount is 8×J=7×C
    Tree variables, three non-dependent equations, the sistem seems possess unique solution.
    Can I do it another way?

  2. I’ll take a crack at it.
    Here’s my translation into equations:
    (j+l)/2=87
    l+6=c
    8j=7c

    Through isolation and substitution I get:
    l=90
    c=96 &
    j=84.

    I swear I did this on my own but I’m going to check against Tatyana’s answers. Wish me luck ;^>

Leave a comment